What is Reiki?

Reiki (pronounced RAY-KEY) is a natural art and system of healing. "REI" is the universal energy, and "KI" is the life force energy.  When your life force energy is high and flowing freely, you are healthy, and happy.  If your life force energy is low, you are vulnerable to illness, depression and stress.  Reiki works on all bodily levels, the physical body, the mental body and the body of your spirit.  Reiki is a safe and natural input of pure energy, which accelerates the body's own natural ability to heal physical ailiments and disease.

  The origin of Reiki can be traced back to ancient Tibet, thousands of years ago.  This technique was rediscovered by Dr. Mikao Usui of Japan, in the mid 1800s.  The tradition of Reiki was an oral one, and was passed on from master to student by word of mouth.  It has been handed down through generations of healers.

  There are three degrees of Reiki Healing Life Force Energy which can be attained. Not all practitioners achieve all three levels.  Each level requires additional studying.

First Degree: The first degree and certification into the Reiki energy as with all levels, must be done by a Certified Reiki Master Teacher.  This is accomplished with an "attunement process", which sets this method of hands on healing apart from others.  The Master Teacher creates an opening and a channel that will allow the Universal LIfe Force Energy to flow through the healer, to the client.

Second Degree:  The second degree of Reiki is said to be fifty times more powerful than the first level.  The student is given three symbols to be used.  One symbol calls upon an increased amount of power, another offers mental/emotional healing ability and the third allows for time/space/ and distance energy work.

Third Degree: The Third Degree is said to bring one hundred times more power than level two.  This comes with added empowerment and responsibility which brings the practitioner to the level of a Reiki Master Practitioner.  By the time the practitioner reaches this level, they have truly attained a very high empowerment.  Another symbol is added to this level, which also empowers the practitioner able to teach this Reiki healing and to be able to attune their students.

The Five Spiritual Principals of Reiki:

"Just for today....

I will not worry,

I will not anger,

I will honor all living things,

I will earn my living honestly,

I will show gratitude for everything."